Monday, March 12, 2012


The BCHL handed out their year end awards Tuesday, and the Coquitlam Express cleaned up on the Coastal Confernce side taking three awards in recognition of their strong seasons.

Captain Alex Petan is the Coastal Conference MVP. The third year forward had a break out season leading all Coastal Conference scorers with 38 goals and 50 assists for 88 points. He was 9 points clear of the 2nd highest scorer in the Coastal Confernce Cowichan Valley's Devin Gannon. Overall Petan finished 5th in BCHL scoring.

Petan becomes the third player in Express history to win the Coastal Conference MVP award joining Kyle Turris and Carlo Finucci who won it in back to back years in 2007 and 2008.

Rookie Alex Kerfoot won 2 BCHL awards. The Coastal Conference Rookie of the year and Most Sportsmanlike player. This season Kerfoot scored 25 goals and 44 assists for 69 points in 51 games. The 17 year old forward was tied with teammate Brady Shaw as the top scoring first year forward in the BCHL. The next highest scoring first year forward in the BCHL was Surrey's Alex Hagen who finished with 43 points, 26 points behind the West Vancouver native. And Kerfoot was only penalized for 24 minutes this season.

Kerfoot becomes the 4th player in Express history to win the Rookie of the year award joining Brett Hemingway 2002, Kyle Turris 2006 and Destry Straight 2011. Plus he is just the second player to win the Most Sportsmanlike player award joining Brock Bradford who won it in 2004.

Here's the full press release from the BCHL:

The British Columbia Hockey League is pleased to announce its award winners for the 2011-12 season. The winners were chosen after a survey of BCHL coaches and executives.

Vern Dye Memorial Trophy – Most Valuable Player
Interior Conference: Paul De Jersey, Prince George Spruce Kings
Coastal Conference: Alex Petan, Coquitlam Express

Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy – Rookie of the Year
Interior Conference: Mario Lucia, Penticton Vees
Coastal Conference: Alex Kerfoot, Coquitlam Express

Best Defenceman Award
Interior Conference: Mike Reilly, Penticton Vees
Coastal Conference: Craig Dalrymple, Powell River Kings

Bob Fenton Trophy – Most Sportsmanlike Player
Interior Conference: Regan Soquila, Merritt Centennials
Coastal Conference: Alex Kerfoot, Coquitlam Express

Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy – Coach of the Year
Interior Conference: Fred Harbinson, Penticton Vees
Coastal Conference: Matt Erhart, Surrey Eagles

Non-voting awards

Brett Hull Trophy – BCHL Top Scorer
Paul De Jersey, Prince George Spruce Kings (41 goals, 57 assists for 98 points)

Goaltending Award (Lowest goals-against average of goalies with 1,000 minutes played)
Michael Garteig, Penticton Vees (1.93 GAA, 2,578 minutes played)

Wally Forslund Award – Top Goaltending Tandem (best combined goals-against average)
Sean Maguire and Jonah Imoo, Powell River Kings (2.05 GAA)

No comments: