Monday, March 2, 2015


Corey Mackin and Brett Supinski were recognized for their fantastic regular seasons with the announcement of the BCHL award winners Monday afternoon. Click here to see all BCHL award winners

Corey Mackin was named the BCHL's Most valuable player and Brett Supinski was named the BCHL's rookie of the year. The awards were voted on by the coaches in the BCHL.

Philadelphia Pennsylvania native Mackin more than doubled his rookie season production of 50 points in his second season in the BCHL by becoming the first player since 2010 to score 50 goals and register more than 100 points. His 50 goals and 104 points earned him the BCHL scoring championship as well.
Photo Courtesy of Damon James Photography.

Mackin also lead the BCHL with 9 shorthanded goals which led the BCHL and was 6 more than his nearest competition from a group of players who had 3 including teammate Brett Supinski. The 9 shorthanded goals also set a new Express franchise record for most shorthanded goals in a season set by Kyle Turris who had 7 in the 05-06 season.

This is the fourth time in Express franchise history that an Express player has won the MVP award. The previous times were Alex Petan 2012, Carlo Finucci 2008 and Kyle Turris 2007. Mackin is also the 2nd player to win the BCHL scoring championship joining Carlo Finucci in 2008.

His 104 points is tied for the second most points in a season by a player tied equalling Tyler McNeely who racked up his total in 2007. Mackin's 50 goals makes him the third player in Express history to score 50 goals in a season joining Kyle Turris who had 66 in 2007 and Brodie Reid's 52 in 2008.

Next season Mackin will attend Ferris State University.

Collegeville Pennsylvania native Brett Supinski in his one and only season in the BCHL finished second in BCHL goals and points with 48 goals and 98 points trailing only teammate Corey Mackin. It was the first time since 1997 that two teammates finished 1-2 in BCHL scoring.

Photo Courtesy of Damon James Photography

The 9 game winning goals for Supinski led the BCHL in that category. He scored all 3 overtime winning goals for the Express this season including scoring OT winners on consecutive nights December 19th and 20th vs. Victoria and Prince George.

He also set new Express franchise marks for most goals and points in a season by an Express rookie breaking the marks set by Brett Hemingway in the Express first season in 2001-02.

It's the 5th time in 14 seasons, and 3rd time in the last 5 seasons that an Express player has won the top rookie award. Previous Express winners are Alexander Kerfoot 2012, Destry Straight 2011, Kyle Turris 2006 and Brett Hemingway 2002.

To put the statistical achievements of Mackin and Supinski in a little perspective, they put their numbers up in a 58 game schedule when the previous winners did it in 60 game schedules.

Next season Supinski will attend Union College.

Congratulations to Corey and Brett for their fantastic seasons that will be talked about for years to come. 

No comments: